An abated sigh

The end of my undergraduate career is coming in lightspeeds. Finals week kicks off tomorrow, and for me, ends on Wednesday.

The semester is coming to a close, and I can’t help but be excited and nervous. Excited because this semester is finally over. This is my last full semester until student teaching, and I’ll go ahead and admit that I have been checked out of this semester since about February. I don’t know if it was the subjects of classes I was in, or if the ill-fated Senioritis finally reared its ugly head at me, but I was done. I’m nervous though, because even though I’ve been anxiously waiting for this semester to end, I still want to make sure my grades are beyond superb. I’ve attempted to skate by this semester; senior year should be a cakewalk, right? I should have known better though, my skating skills have always been sub-par. Within a week, the past week, I’ve written almost 40 pages. That may not seem like much, but for a lazy math major, it is like writing Homer’s Iliad. Besides those, I’ve gotten by with little effort on many projects, but I’ve always planned to get by with minimal A’s. I want to be lazy, but I still want the grade.

The work has been somewhat rigid, and unlike what I’m used to; and honestly, I’m not really sure if any of it is actually vital to what I’ll be doing in the classroom. When I observed about a month ago, it was a breath of fresh air. I finally hit a stride and was ready to teach. Having to go back into the classroom as a student was dreadful. I wanted to teach. Now this semester is finally coming to fruition, yet with my contended sigh of relief on Wednesday, there will also be a part that is still anxious until grades are posted.

I still have two menial hurdles [a.k.a. classes] to overcome this summer, but after this week I will begin my official countdown until August. Crossing off each day putting me one step closer to my ultimate dream, and my ultimate job.

One thought on “An abated sigh

Leave a Reply

