Shame

I missed the Writer’s Workshop this week, but unfortunately school takes precedence. After school is sleep and I was really needing some of that this week so my little internets world has taken a hit. Here is what I had planned on doing though

Show us something you’ve created for Halloween, anything qualifies…costumes, recipes, crafts, party invites, treats, decorations etc..

Y’all, I went straight up Martha Stewart for Halloween this year [Okay, so maybe a dinky house and FLIPPING AWESOME PUMPKINS doesn’t count to throw the Queen of Crafts off her throne, but for me its pretty crafty]

Take a looksee at what I’ve done

do you see that spider web roof? I did that! So it isn’t technically perfect, DON’T RAIN ON MY PARADE!!! Also, the sidewalk is a yellow brick road reference. I know, it looks more like crap nothing on a glob of yellow paint, but I’ve never claimed to be an artist so it’ll have to suffice. Besides the Mister is just interested in eating it so looks don’t really matter.

Next are the pumpkins which are near and dear to my heart.

Well, pumpkins aren’t completely near and dear to my heart. I wish pumpkins were genetically modified to come already hollowed out. The guts of a pumpkin gross me out and always smell terrible.

I have texture issues with it because its stringy, but slimy, but smelly, but orangey, but gourdy, and if you dig too deep, you get stuff stuck under your nails.

Mister started working on his ASAP

and watching him carve with those little tools is like watching a gorilla try to push a straw in a kool-aid pouch.

can you tell who his favorite cartoon character EVER is? By favorite I mean we still watch every episode that is playing, even if he knows every.single.line. and ruins the rest of it by saying who the bad guy is

Remember how excited he was? He got a little too antsy and Scoobs lost an eye

NOW FOR THE GREATEST PUMPKINS EVER ALIVE… er, dead? carved? Whatever, they’re just the best.

The first one I did was I think the easiest pumpkin I’ve ever carved in my life. Seriously. DON’T LAUGH AT MY CHOICE IN DESIGN

Don’t.

Do.

It.

Seriously.

Laugh and taunt me all.you.want. You know you want some pumpkin pi now 😉

The second pumpkin I did is going to be an annual tradition. I don’t know how long it’ll be a tradition though because it takes 4 hours of my time to do it. Not.even.kidding.you. I may be able to pause 4 hours of my life to create a pumpkin masterpeice now, but who know 5 or 10 years from now.

Here it is, kind of step by step

In my mind and house, the holidays aren’t holiday-ee if Peanuts aren’t involved. Halloween ain’t any different.

The outline itself isn’t completely carved out of the pumpkin, only the outside is taken off so the inside will glow. To do this, I traced the entire outline by poking tiny holes with a needle. A sewing needle. OMG it took some time and patience and that was only the beginning. [1 hour into carving]

Because of the extensive detail, the regular ol’ utensils were useless. I had to use a kitchen knife. Yes thats how I held it. No it didn’t cut me. Yes that knife is ridiculously dull, but not dull enough to not help out with the pumpkin. After a while though, a girl does need some padding to keep the uncomfortableness to a minimum. I don’t know if its because I’m a southpaw and hold things differently than righties or what. Bandaids sufficed.

Two and a half hours into it, I’ve got the outline carved for Charlie and his pumpkin.

Finally finished! and drumroll please…


the finished glowing product!

Pretty amazing huh? I love it and hope that one year the Great Pumpkin will love it enough too and comes to visit ME on Halloween and brings me presents for the best pumpkin 🙂

2 thoughts on “Shame

  1. Wow! I am soo imressed! Like you though, I absolutely detest the inside of the pumpkin. This year we actually found a plant growing inside of our pumpkin, which I did not know was possible. Next year I will have to try the pattern idea, because doing it free hand is for the birds (but the kiddos loved it). By the way, just visiting for the first time via Mama Kat…will be back, you have a very cute blog!

Leave a Reply

